One small splash for Gemma..

During the the summer of 2012, I did something I’ve never done before, and I may well never do again. But I really enjoyed it! I watched sport. Actual sport on actual live TV (so retro). Usually I don’t like to watch athletes sporting endeavours since it makes me feel like I should be using my gym membership instead of sitting on my bum staring gormlessly at other peoples achievements.

 But it was the summer of 2012 – the Olympics had come to London. I had the day off work. It was rainy. The men’s diving event was on. The recipe was ready. It turned out to be incredibly addictive. Some friends came over and I just couldn’t turn the TV off. Soon we were all transfixed. When Tom Daley won a bronze medal I was so happy for him. Plus it was cute when his friends all bundled him into the pool with sheer joy.

Diving is beautiful to watch. But to do it takes a lot of courage. To hit the water from a ten metre height is extremely painful.

splash

When I heard that Gemma Collins from Towie was going to be on reality TV celebrity diving show, Splash, I thought wow, how brave is she! Diving is not an easy sport, and jumping off the board when you’ve not had that experience must be terrifying.But she’s also well aware that being a female on TV is not easy. She probably knows that her body will be under constant scrutiny in the press and online.Since appearing on everyone’s favourite Essex reality based drama, Towie, Gemma has had her body analysed constantly.

So, to summarise, Gemma knew she would be on TV in a swimsuit and she knew she’d be fabulous she didn’t give a flying fuck about the haters. How punk rock is that. What an inspiring lady!

As soon as the news that Gemma was taking part on the show, the insults began. Predictably, ex boyfriend and not at all skinny James ‘Arg’ Argent was quoted as laughing – ““It’ll be so funny – absolute TV gold. The poor girl , she has set herself up for it.” People on Twitter came up with hilarious quips like – “Watching Gemma dive on splash is like watching free willy lol” and “BREAKING NEWS: Flood defences fail in south east England following Gemma Collins’ attempt at diving”.This reaction was depressingly unsurprising. It’s unbelievable how much pressure is put on fat people to be invisible, to not stand out.

Gemma was a bundle of nerves before her dive. She had not stopped trying during training, even when her body was badly bruised.

But she did it! She wore an amazing sparkly swim suit (which will be for sale this Summer!) too. It was one small dive for Gemma, but one giant leap for fatkind!

I think Gemma was incredibly inspiring and I loved being able to see a fat person on TV doing sport, looking fabulous and not giving a fuck what nasty, narrow minded dicks would say. Big LOVE to Gem!

PS If that hasn’t convinced you Gem is a total babe – watch this!

Leave a Reply

