Sleepover, the Break’s Over

On Saturday night, I went to a sleepover party. It’s been such a long time since I’ve been to one, but I remembered what essential elements make a sleepover good – snacks, pop, magazines, films and of course, girls! This party had it all (plus wine) – and a sign on the door that said ‘NO BOYS ALLOWED’.

Inbetween the hair braiding, snacking and gossiping, we watched these films:

 

Miss Congeniality

No-one could believe that I hadn’t seen this film before, since I love girlie films, but it had totally passed me by. I missed the entire first half since I was talking. The Miss USA Pageant organisers outrage and repulsion when FBI Officer Gracie (played by Sandra Bullock) tells them she is going undercover as a contestant made me laugh a lot. It reminded me of that scene in ‘Not Another Teen Movie’ where the most popular boy in school says he can take any girl and make her Prom Queen. And then Janie walks past him and his friends and he yells, “No, no, no, no, anyone but her! Not… Janie Briggs! Guys, she’s got glasses and a ponytail!” Sandra Bullock is a hottie, and even with her hair in a -gasp!- ponytail, it’s easy to tell.

Okay, so even though it was kind of silly, I liked watching the film. It was fun and had clever dialogue in places and the ending was actually kind of touching! Maybe I’d had too much wine, but I thought so anyway.

Then we watched…

 

Grease

I thought I’d seen this film enough times when I was a kid, but it was funnier than I remembered it being when I watched it at the sleepover. Plus, it has a sleepover scene! It was like we were watching ourselves (apart from the fact that we weren’t dancing around in our undies and trying on wigs – that obviously happened later in the night). There are things about Grease that I noticed that I hadn’t previously, watching it as a kid. Like, Kenickie is just about the coolest boy ever. I can see why the band was named after him. And John Travolta is awesome in it, innit. Rizzo also rocks.

At about 5am, we started watching…

 

Dirty Dancing

Another film I watched as a kid and think is much, much better than I at first thought. For a start, the soundtrack is amazing. Inbetween ‘She’s Like the Wind’ and ‘I’ve Had the Time of my Life’ there are some gems from the 60s by Ottis Redding, The Drifters, The Shirelles… Some of my friends hadn’t seen Dirty Dancing before! It’s about a girl called Baby (played by Jennifer Grey, who also played Ferris Bueller’s moody sister, Jeannie) who goes to a Holiday Camp with her family in 1963. She meets a guy called Johnny (Patrick Swayze) who is wild and exciting and an amazing dancer. The film is kind of cliche and ridiculous (‘can’t dance at all’ to ‘show stopping performer’ in less than two weeks!) but fun to watch anyway. Who wants to watch realistic films anyway. That’s a short walk away from watching black and white French films where everyone dies or wishes they were dead, and sits around smoking cigarettes and being depressed. More films with dancing, I reckon!

I got to sleep at 9am which was pretty ridiculous. But it was so much fun!

Leave a Reply

