Twice as nice… Duets I love!

Brandy and Monica – The Boy is Mine

I used to love watched Moesha, which was a fun sitcom in the go-go-90s starring Brandy. I didn’t really know a lot about Monica when ‘The Boy is Mine’ came out, and now she is one of my favourite RnB singers! She sings this song called ‘So Gone’, about finding out her boyfriend has been cheating on her, and it’s so emotional and intense. ‘The Boy is Mine’ is about two girls who are fighting over the same boy. Unlike some other RnB duets, they don’t try and outsing each other. Plus, Mekhi Phifer is the boy they are fighting over in the video!

 

 

MC Skat Kat and Paula Abdul – Opposites Attract

This song is about the complicated relationship between Paula and an animated cat who likes to shout, and to smoke, and party all night. Their friends are saying, they ain’t gonna last – but when they get together it just all works out! This song is really cute and I love the 80s synth beat. When TV presenters Ant and Dec disguised themselves as hopefuls at an American Idol audition, they performed this song for Randy, Paula and Simon Cowell. It was really funny!

 

 

Luther Vandross and Janet Jackson – The Best Things in Life are Free

This song is so cute! It’s a really happy and lovely song. And people always forget what an amazing voice Janet has, because they’re all too often remembering her weight, and Michael, and her left nipple. Sadly, this great song was covered on some TV show a few years back by plastic fantastic couple (at the time, anyway) Peter Andre and Jordan. The joy and happiness I remember this song having just totally collapses in on itself when I see their performace. So bland!  Have a look if you like, but it will put you off this song probably forever.

 

 

Christina Aguilera and Lil Kim – Can’t Hold Us Down

I love this song! It takes forever to start but once it does, you’re in the middle of an awesome feminist anthem where both Christina and Lil Kim are going off about how important it is to stand up to sexist bullshit. The video is really cool and Lil Kim looks amazing and ridiculous as ever, but Christina’s hair just looks so bad. She’s gone back to blonde now which I think is a good idea. I can’t believe I haven’t seen Burlesque yet! It looks camper than Showgirls!

 

 

Dr. Dre and Eminem – Forgot About Dre

I don’t really like Eminem all that much, but his verse in ‘Forgot About Dre’ is nothing short of amazing. Me and my friend Joel used to know every single lyric to this! There are so many classic lines in this – ‘You’re the reason Dre ain’t been getting no sleep!’, ‘You’ll turn me back to the old me!’ and of course, everyone’s favourite – ‘Fuck you too, bitch, call the cops! I’ma kill you and those loud ass motherfuckin barking dogs!’ It is amazingness, probably one of my favourite ever songs! I can’t remember all the words like I used to, which makes me sad. Ahhh, old age!

 

 

Elton John and Rupaul – Don’t Go Breaking My Heart

This song is so much fun to sing along to! I admit to singing it pretty much all the time.  Both parts, on my own, I do not care. I know the first version of this song was with Elton John and Kiki Dee, but I think the Rupaul version is just so classic. And Rupaul is so beautiful! Plus, Rupaul was in one of my favourite films, ‘But I’m a Cheerleader!’

 

 

Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton – Islands in the Stream

Holy moly, Dolly Parton is just so cool and her voice is so beautiful! One time I was at a theme park, and we had all just got off the log flume ride and we were soaked through, and debating whether to go on again, when ‘Islands in the Stream’ started playing. We were dancing about and singing along, and of course we went round a second time. A terrible idea, it turned out, as it was a grey and cold day and we didn’t really get dry afterwards.

 

Sophie’s Favourite Duet of the lot: It has to be Opposites Attract by MC Skat Kat and Paula Abdul!

Leave a Reply

